New to this forum

del sol daddy-O

Hello to all! I am new to this forum and relatively new to owning a 1993 Del sol. I am currently in need of an engine or doing some engine work to this little car. I'm new to working on imports so please be patient as I may ask a lot of newbie questions that seem simple to most of you. thanks in advance for any help in getting this thing under way!

Hello and welcome to HF.

Don't be put off if anyone here acts like an asshat from time to time. In general the people are nice and will help you where they can.

Well the sol was burning A LOT of oil and then quit all together. I pulled the head off of the D15B7 that is in it and found two of the exhaust valves to be actually broken out along the radius. (cylinders 1 & 3) I looked and could see not signs of damage to the cylinder walls nor any remnants of the missing valve pieces. Has anyone ever heard of this happening before? Still doesn't really explain the burning oil though does it? I'm thinking blown head gasket as well since #4 had signs of some pretty nasty deposits on the valves as well. This car was just meant to be an inexpensive commuter/fun car so right now I dont think I'm gonna do too much to it other than just get it running so I can start saving some cash...maybe more later then.

I had a broken valve in my sol. If you have a haynes manual, a torque wrench, and a valve spring compressor ($10) you can change them. Try to find a parts head rather than buying new parts. I found a complete good head for $30 but just used it for parts because it looked nasty. Clean those nasty deposits off with a wire brush wheel attached to a drill. If it's burning a lot of oil though, the rings may be shot. In this case, just find another engine. They are usually $150-$250 for a good used d15b7. Or if you want to eventually make this car faster, there are other motors that would bolt right in for you.

Are you sure it isn't leaking oil? Oh and welcome and stuff.