how do you vtec your car while driving

bosoxfan1

ok so im new to honda (coming from nissan tuning) and was told that in order to keep my engine in good shape its good to use the vtec mode while your driving. my question is how do you get it into vtec im guessing that you come close to red lining in order to do so. i hope im explainging it properly or that you are understanding what im trying to figure out exactly...thanks!

• Replies 95
  • Created
  • Last Reply

ok so im new to honda (coming from nissan tuning) and was told that in order to keep my engine in good shape its good to use the vtec mode while your driving. my question is how do you get it into vtec im guessing that you come close to red lining in order to do so. i hope im explainging it properly or that you are understanding what im trying to figure out exactly...thanks!

your friends are stupid

you shouldnt ride around at 6000 rpms all the time

use good fluids and keep up with maintanence and it'll be fine.. vtec every now and again is fine to clean out carbon but its not like it really makes the car fast lol

so most mid 90 civics have vtec.. most 90 civics also run 16's-17's in the quarter... thats not fast

systems like 'vtec' have been around for a while.. its an efficiency thing and allows you to have 'more' power up top while still having low end but 'more power' doesnt mean you actually have a lot of power

that doesnt mean i would actually drive a non vtec honda though.. i showed a friend how to drive in her d15 civic.. NO power.. it was horrible.. I think mine is slow.. i didnt think we were going any where in hers

your friends are stupid

you shouldnt ride around at 6000 rpms all the time

use good fluids and keep up with maintanence and it'll be fine.. vtec every now and again is fine to clean out carbon but its not like it really makes the car fast lol