what grade gas in Si with vtec

mongo

Just bought a 95 Si with vtec, owners manual says to use 'unleaded 86 or higher in the S, Si" but then says " vtec unleaded 91 or higher",,,,does mine take reg or premium,, I am new to Honda's,,,so dont flame me...........

Just bought a 95 Si with vtec, owners manual says to use 'unleaded 86 or higher in the S, Si" but then says " vtec unleaded 91 or higher",,,,does mine take reg or premium,, I am new to Honda's,,,so dont flame me...........

3 trim levels for the Sols, except for 93, which only had two.

S and Si take regular, the VTEC trim level needs higher octane. the Si and VTEC trims have VTEC equipped engines. It is a bit confusing at first.

wow i cant believe someone would ask that but not hating on you its better to ask then not to i quess but me i run 91 but i also have a b16a and when i had my d16z6 i still ran 91 just thought it did better and it didnt hurt it

Thanks guys, still learning, premium it is, the car had sat up almost a year per po, doing all the fluid changes and tune up work,,,any suggestions on type spark plug or just go with the $2 NGK the owners manual says to use.....

ngk for plugs.. even though they are $2 doesnt mean they are bad

bf uses the same brand ngk i do and his are 10 a piece

as far as gas just use regular.. hondas have lower compression ratios and dont have to have 93 or midgrade.. if you like spending more in gas go ahead but you dont need it.. im assuming your car is all stock or close to it (even if you had a cold air intake/header etc using regular is fine)

i used to put 87 in my car even before going to the track