Looking to buy a Del Sol

solo95

Hi,

The name's Solo I'm new to Honda Forums.

Been looking for Del Sols on craigslist in the Seattle, WA area.

...Couldn't find any Del Sols that were Si Stock. All of them's been messed with.

Anyways, I'm looking for one and I wanted to ask the Del Sol Owners:

- What should I look for when purchasing a Del Sol?

- What resources should I tap to learn more about Del Sols?

- What were the things you wish you would've done when you bought your Del Sol.

I've test drove 2 so far, and I'm really looking to purchase one soon.

Thanks.

-Solo-

advice #1, del sols are getting more and more rare and hard to find. Do not limit yourself to a search just in Seattle. Don't be afraid to drive, at least a couple hours, in any direction to check out nice ones. I live in Ohio and from all the salt used the cars get eaten alive by rust, so I bought a Florida car and flew down and bought it and drove back. Now I have a rust free, low mileage Del Sol. And I paid less too as it seems to be a more common car from warmer climate areas.

The roofs leak alot. And from what I can find the replacement moldings are kind of pricey. I wouldn't let it deter you, just be aware. One that has leaked for a long time could have floor pan rust issues.

I doubt you will find many nice si or vtec del sols that are still 100% stock. Pick your battles. If you find ones with just an intake, exhaust and header you could easily revert it back to all stock for a few bucks and then sell the used after market parts on craigslist and probably pocket a few extra dollars. S models should be much easier to find all stock, but then they are pretty gutless compared to the si/vtec model.

BTW, welcome home. :D

Welcome!

Yeah just like x3772 said: Be aware of the leaky roofs. Being from WA where I hear it rains a ton I would say you'll want to be extra careful about checking for leaks, or if it does leak then spend some cash and get them fixed.