Advice for a deployed soldier lookin at getting a 98+ prelude in the n

CobraStrikeJN66

Ive been looking into getting a 98+ Prelude for a daily driver/ occasional track car. Only problem is I am in Afghanistan but ill be state side in November to begin my hunt. I have a budget of no more than 8k for the car with 2k for parts (it will be more after my deployment is over for good next summer). My questions are, what are good supporting mods i can get with my 2k parts budget. I know intake/exhaust etc as i have on my civic. what are some legit sites to purchase from who have good deals for parts quality? I am fairly new to the Honda scene as my brother turned me on to em less than 6 months ago and i bought my first civic a few months later because it was cheap and it served dual purposes since its kept at my moms house in Washington State while im stationed in Kentucky she can drive it and cart my siblings around and I drive it while im home on block leave. I plan on giving her my civic once i get the prelude. My ultimate goal is to possibly do an engine swap and maybe a turbo. that's long term however and probably not going to be within reach for over a year. Also what differences can i see between the auto vs manual tranny, ive heard mixed reviews about both arguing both sides advantages in certain areas. Finally when looking at the car itself what problem areas should i pay close attention to to avoid getting ripped off? Id look into these answers myself but Ive got a limited amount of internet time and im on R&R for a few days before I head back out to a smaller base without internet (the benefits of being in the Infantry). Thanks for your help

-- Cobra

First off, thank you for your service over in Afghanistan, we all appreciate what you're doing for our country.

Now to answer some of your questions. First things first, DEFINITELY get a manual. They are muchmuchmuch more fun than auto and you have more control of the car.