Newb with some questions

Ok hey yall im a honda Newb but heres the deal. I will be buying a CRX shell (no motor no trans). I drive to school everyday (UTI) about 1.5 hours 1 way. I will be building the CRX for MPG and MPG ONLY. my plans for a motor is a D16Z6 and as for a trans a stock one. Or a diferent one? other things i will do is gut the car noting besides 1 seat, gauge cluster, pedals, and a stick out of the floor. I will also be taking all the windows out besides Driver and windshield. The other windows will be plexyglass. Bumpers will be removed but i will pit the bumper covers back on.

My questions to you are Is this a good idea? What are some things you would do different? what should i do in the lines of Intake and Exhaust(Keep in mind i have a friend that can tune the car). i dunno just let me know i guess. what you think my milage will be on my idea if it dont change?

like i said im a honda newb any help would be great

sorry about spellin i suck at it

Thanks for the help James

why would you make it like a race car if youre just using it for MPG purposes? i understand itll relieve alot of weight but you dont want the comfort and "luxury" compared to a fully gutted car?

hope this isnt going to be a DD, because youll end up hating it

Ok hey yall im a honda Newb but heres the deal. I will be buying a CRX shell (no motor no trans). I drive to school everyday (UTI) about 1.5 hours 1 way. I will be building the CRX for MPG and MPG ONLY. my plans for a motor is a D16Z6 and as for a trans a stock one. Or a diferent one? other things i will do is gut the car noting besides 1 seat, gauge cluster, pedals, and a stick out of the floor. I will also be taking all the windows out besides Driver and windshield. The other windows will be plexyglass. Bumpers will be removed but i will pit the bumper covers back on.