Nitrous?opinion

hondadrifter

I drive a 95 honda civic ex. I have left the stock motor in it. So far i have an apexi catback with a arospeed high flow catalytic converter also some port matched obx-r headers. I have a akimoto short ram intake....blah blah blah thats the motor bullcrap so far....my further plans is to do a obx-r cam sprocket and a zex camshaft. Afterwards i was looking into doing a 65 shot of zex. What must i do to prevent engine damage. i was thinking maybe upgrade my fuel pump and maybe like fuel rail and regulator....i already bought a autometer air-fuel ratio guage to monitor everything..what do you think?

• Replies 157
  • Created
  • Last Reply

A nitrous fogger system is much safer for the engine, but if you need to take shots of laughing gas, make sure your Compression Ratio isn't too high so you don't shoot rods out of your block. I'm not an expert on NO2, mainly because I'll never put it on my ride, but that's all I know.

Don't go with Zex. Bad, bad stuff.

If you are gonna go with nitrous on the Civic go with NX or NOS. Safer for the car and you might get more of a horsepower gain out of those two kits then you would with Zex. I know for sure that NX will give you the horsepower you want at the ground, that's how they rate their jets. So if you have a 75 shot in, you will be pushing an extra 75 hp to the ground. Period.

I am also not a big fan of the nitrous, I just consider it cheating in a way but that is a whole nother disscussion.....

and yet again another "i can drift my fwd" guy 

this comming from a person who has a 240sx and is on a HONDA forum. your one to talk buddy. next you'll be making fun of the people who put type-r on their honda, and your name is.........s14silvia? silvia as in the right hand drive japan spec 240sx? wow. :rolleyes: i don't know who hondadrifter is (i love the name 8) ) but he seems like he know's his stuff. and he has the same car as me so he is automatically cool.