Engine swap question

reewinder

I might want to do an engine swap someday down the road but I have one little question. I have an automatic transmission and was wondering if that will limit me to what motors will work. I do not want a manual transmission so I don't mind if I am limited. Just nice to know ahead of time so I can come up with a plan and know what to keep an eye out for(parts wise).

I think I read somewhere that DOHC VTECs were only available on the Del Sol's with manual transmissions and I have little knowledge of motors/transmissions so I have no idea if they can be interchanged with an automatic. I hope this doesn't sound too noob a question. I hope to learn more about how everything works from these forums.

Thanks for any info.

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

you should get a 5-spd transmission during the swap.

get a gsr motor. you could probably find one for $3000.

and no DOHC VTEC is not just on del sol vtec's, they're on the intagra gsr, itr, prelude h22, i think '99-'00 civic si.....did i miss any?

I'm sure I could get used to driving a 5 speed but I have never had a desire to learn....

also I get leg cramps all the time so my legs are somewhat stiff and would make using a clutch difficult. I am happy to continue driving an automatic. So the question still remains.....can every motor out there easily bolt up to an automatic if it came out of a 5 speed.....or can it be done? Or what needs to be done to make them compatible?

Side note....I am aware that DOHC VTEC motors weren't just on Del Sol's. I was trying to ask if they were exclusively available in 5 speed manual transmission only. (as in they were never offered in an automatic)

That's why I am not sure if one will mount up to an automatic. Allthough I have the SI model with a SOHC VTEC.