Weird Electrical Issue

mattcooper76

So this is my first time posting, and I'm not super-proficient on working on vehicles but I'm learning as I go. Here's the problem...

I got in my 2002 Civic this morning and drove for a couple of minutes and then noticed, all of a sudden, that the battery light and my engine light came on and stayed lit. Then as I continued driving, my gas gauge dipped down to empty (prompting the gas light to come on) and then after a few seconds went back to 1/2 full (where it should have been). Then the speedometer just went to 0 mph and has stayed there since. In addition, the odometer is not running as well. I believe I did hear a bit of a crackling sound 2 times...possibly a sizzle-like sound, coming from behind the dash...YIKES.

Sooooo...obviously this is some sort of electrical problem. I really have no idea where to start with all of this. I'm assuming that if a fuse blew, lights would just not come on at all.

Please help! Thank you in advance.

Matt

the thing filled with gauges. it will have 3(ish) plugs on the back of it that are filled with wires controlling everything. if one of them is loose it can screw up the readings.

did the car act any different when all of this was going on?

the thing filled with gauges. it will have 3(ish) plugs on the back of it that are filled with wires controlling everything. if one of them is loose it can screw up the readings.

did the car act any different when all of this was going on?

It didn't seem to do anything differently.

So how do I access this cluster?

It didn't seem to do anything differently.

So how do I access this cluster?

I've spent much of my evening educating myself on this issue and I feel like I'm beginning to get the basics of what might be going on. I also looked underneath the dash and found the obscene amount of wires within the wire harnesses. Just a few questions...