my car keep overheating....help me?

spike10197

i own a 1990 honda civic 1500DX. im a newb with it still. this past week it has been overheating. i dont know why though but i did do a few things to see if it would work but, it didnt. the first thing i did was change the THERMOSTAT. then i changed the raditor cap. then i gave it a raditor flush. it keeps overheating. theres no leaks coming from anywhere that i kown of. does the cooling fans run at normal tempture? because mine doesnt. what can i do to fix this problem? can anyone help me please.

also one more thing. do you think it can be the thermosensor that is causing all of this? if so then how do you change it and where its located?

you sure the fan is turning on? if there is no air in the system i could only really see that as being the problem. possibly the water pump too

Could very well be your water pump although rare. How many miles are on it?

i think it is the water pump because everytime i put it in neautral and step on the gas the temp. goes down.

Usually if it is the water pump it will be leaking. First off try unplugging the terminal to your fan. Then grab a coil of wire and hold it to the positive terminal of battery and hold another wire to the ground out the negative side of the fan plug. Basically check to see if your fan is working. Start from the easy stuff then work your way up.

Usually if it is the water pump it will be leaking. First off try unplugging the terminal to your fan. Then grab a coil of wire and hold it to the positive terminal of battery and hold another wire to the ground out the negative side of the fan plug. Basically check to see if your fan is working. Start from the easy stuff then work your way up.

the fans do turn on when the temp. gauge goes up to 3/4 of the way

i dont know if they are supposed to go on then or less.

like i said im new to hondas.

i used to own a 1979 datsun 280zx. :heart:

i knew a lot about it