GSR Del Sol?

I'm new to all of this and am trying to plan a build. I want to build a Del Sol. I really want an unmolested '95 VTEC, but they are very hard to find. So, here are my questions. If I decided to go with a swap, how much work would it be to upgrade the suspension and brakes on an S model if I found one really cheap? Would it be much much better to go with an Si? And the big one; opinions on the best engine to swap in. The GSR seems to be the most popular. That's a 1.8L DOHC VTEC, right? From the popularity I am assuming this engine holds up well and has a lot of aftermarket support, true? I am planning a massive engine build, so I'm looking more for a buildable engine; and stock HP doesn't really matter. Also, how tough is this swap? Are mounts and the like readily available? Would I need to get the motor and tranny or would the 1.5/1.6 manual match up and perform properly with the GSR engine? Also, do I need the ECM, or can I just reprogram the OBD1 module that will be in a '95 Sol? THANKS!

Just wanted to add a new quick question. I was just looking at GSR motors online. What do they mean when they say "hydraulic tranny", certainly it's not an automatic?! And what's with the "LSD" transmission? Also, what was the last year for OBD1 on the GSR, 1995? Thanks!