non-vtec to vtec

joemarsh2004

hi guys, i have a non-vtec del sol which is abolutly lovely condition and drives really well, and i have a vtec del sol that has a dented wing and has few little things wrong with it i.e central locking. so i want the do an engine swap. how hard is it to swap over the ecu's? can u jsut keep all the wiring in them but swap over the ecu's? does the engines have same engine mountings? im a Jaguar/Aston Martin mechanic so i no what im doing but i never gone out and had a look you see and wondering if anyone has done one before and noes any tips? im new to the japan scene you see lol

thanks

joe

engine will bolt right in using the mounts in vtec car obviously. as far as wiring goes , as long as the cars are both OBD1 , your set. take the harness out with the engine , swap it into the other car when you swap. if your a mechanic , you should have no trouble wit this.

where abouts are the ecu's on these? and the bolt placements are in the same places in the chasis of both del sols then? so all that will be needed is connect the wiring for the fuel etc. disconnect coolant and exhaust and fuel lines. then swap them over? do you think you could write a list of what there is to disconnect to do the job? i havent even opend up the vtec's bonnet yet lol

thanks alot

joe

engine will bolt right in using the mounts in vtec car obviously. as far as wiring goes , as long as the cars are both OBD1 , your set. take the harness out with the engine , swap it into the other car when you swap. if your a mechanic , you should have no trouble wit this.

The swap is straight forward and very easy. As far as wiring goes use the same exact wiring harness in the vehicle you are swaping the engine into and just add the 2 wires for the vtec. Happy revving

The swap is straight forward and very easy. As far as wiring goes use the same exact wiring harness in the vehicle you are swaping the engine into and just add the 2 wires for the vtec. Happy revving