Motor swap help

hondafreak17

Hey I'm new to all this but looking for a good place for advice. But i got a 93 Del Sol S and im wanting to do a motor swap in it something nice fast but yet not extrememly expensive any suggestions?

Hey I'm new to all this but looking for a good place for advice. But i got a 93 Del Sol S and im wanting to do a motor swap in it something nice fast but yet not extrememly expensive any suggestions?

hey thanks!! ill look into that.

It all depends on if you take it to a shop or if you can do everything yourself.

Also depends on if you want to stay single cam or dual cam.

If you can do the work yourself you might as well hunt around for a good used motor. If you stay with the D series motor you could swap in a D16Z6 that came in the Si model Del Sol's and find one for cheap cause that's usually what people end up swapping out. I've seen people practically give them away. For the B series motors everyones gonna say B16 or B18C1 or B18C5 (cheaper to most expensive)

Or a bunch of other people will say keep the motor you have and just turbo it.

I've been reading up on swaps and I'm thinking about getting a B20Z motor (they were in the Honda CRV's). Not massive horsepower but the torque is what I'm looking at. I think it's 146/hp and 133/torque. And if you put a B series vtec head on it you get more hp.

Here's a link to some good basic information that you want.

http://www.hondahookup.com/info/engine_swap_faq.php

It all depends on if you take it to a shop or if you can do everything yourself.

Also depends on if you want to stay single cam or dual cam.