86- 1.5 carburater

seeanew

Hi Y'all,

I could use some advice. Recently I bought an 86 civic hatchback with 115K miles on it that was not abused.

No rust, good body and glass, poor drivers seat---and the other seats are tired too. I am not a mechanic, but I appreciate a good running, efficient car, and there is another Honda in the family, a 2000, 4 cyl Accord that is a joy to drive and never breaks.

Anyhow, I just put on new 13 inch tires, serviced the tranny, replaced all the belts, adjusted the clutch, and it is giving me about 40mpg (which is just what I wanted). The mechanic I use, whom I respect, told me that when the carburater goes, the car is worthless. Therefore, he said, put little money in it and when the carb dies, junk it. Is this true? Somehow I just can't believe it. He said rebuilt carbs are quite poor---so don't go that way.

I see that Weber makes a new carb for my little critter. Has anyone ever used one of these? Are absolutely NEW OEM carbs, not rebuilt ones, available? Anywhere?

I am having a love affair with my little hatchback (I need a hatchback because I am an artist and need the carrying space), and I just can't believe that I can't keep this car for many years if I care for it well.

I need new struts. Is there any way to do this inexpensively? I like to replace the radio/tape player. Any suggestions? If I wanted larger tires, next time, which way should I go?

Remember, my bank is very small. How many wealthy artists do you know? Any and all advice would be enormously appreciated.

Thanks,

Glenn

seeanew