Civic Project Car Help

Hey everyone I'm new to the Honda scene and my friend and I have decided to make a civic project car. Hopefully with at least 10 grand to put into it including engine, suspension, brakes and everything else. I'm a BMW guy and my friend is a Honda guy and I decided to go half with him since I would like to see how this turns out. We plan on stripping the whole interior so we have just two racing seats a roll cage and nothing else. Atleast thats the plan now... I have no clue about engines and Hondas except that with a little time and effort they can be fun to drive.

We are still in the planning phase but I needed some advice/suggestions on what motor to work on. We were planning on using a b20 and trying to tune it to the max and then throw in a turbo with a 5-6 grand budget... Will a b20 work in a 92 Civic hatch? Is there a better engine that would be more suitable? Do I have any clue what to what I am saying? More or less we are just trying to have some fun and create one little safe fast car.

But to not get too ahead of oursleves the engine question is great to start, considering we are looking to build the engine first then purchasing a hatch when it is complete to install and everything. So any advice/suggestions on which engine is a good base to start off of and what kind of mods are most important to take care of first so that we can hopefully run at around 20 psi? Any help would be appreciated! Thanks a lot.

+1 for "safe, fast, little car"

Get at SSR, he builds Honda motors