Power steering Noise

Nauman Sharif

Hello everyone

I own a 2004 Honda Accord (2.4L 4 cylinder, 135K Miles) which about a year ago started producing the infamous whining noise which my mechanic said was the PS. Now back then the noise would go away after 2-3 minutes of warm-up. Fast forward a year, and the noise is louder and does not go away at all, even after a 300+ mile highway drive. The problem here is that none of the mechanics I've come across can pin point if it is the high pressure hose that needs replacing (I've never found leaks anywhere, but it has got to be pulling air in from somewhere) or has the pump itself given out. It wasn't a problem before but now the noise is considerably loud and is quite embarrassing not to mention I got pulled over for it.

Some additional info: The reservoir fills up with foam when the engine is running. Also, I don't live in the states and the mechanics aren't that good down here. Any help would be appreciated since I'm a student and can't afford replacing everything needlessly.

Thanks!

You say the reservior fills with foam but you have no leaks. Unless you've missed leaks somewhere, the air would be coming from the reservior. The first thing I can think of is the fluid level drops low enough for the suction line to cavitate at the reservior and then either cavitate in the pump or cause a vapor lock. Even a full reservior can get foam, and a pump can cavitate without air present.

Now, assuming you don't know what you're looking at, I'm going to offer a fresh perspective. The foam is normal, you have no leaks, and your pump has progressively increased its noise output over time. I would say the pump bearings are making the noise.

Is the correct amount of fluid in the reservior and can you check the pump bearings yourself?