confused with my lighting setup...

JimmyGoll

Hello I have bought my mess of a civic about 2 months ago now, and inspection time is right around the corner. Well I need to get new headlights for it since I only have a high beam...no low beam at all. I am very new to all this and am just wondering what is my best/most cost effective way of fixing this. The guy I bought the car off of put some pretty cheap HID kit on it, with an aftermarket light housing. Can I get 2 "filament" light bulbs for high and low beams with HID? Can I simply put the OEM replacement bulb in even with the HID converters hooked up? Or will I need to buy a whole new light casing with OEM wires?

Sorry I know this is totally a stupid question, but I have never had to deal with headlights before and do not know the jist about them....any help is greatly appreciated!

Hello I have bought my mess of a civic about 2 months ago now, and inspection time is right around the corner. Well I need to get new headlights for it since I only have a high beam...no low beam at all. I am very new to all this and am just wondering what is my best/most cost effective way of fixing this. The guy I bought the car off of put some pretty cheap HID kit on it, with an aftermarket light housing. Can I get 2 "filament" light bulbs for high and low beams with HID? Can I simply put the OEM replacement bulb in even with the HID converters hooked up? Or will I need to buy a whole new light casing with OEM wires?

Sorry I know this is totally a stupid question, but I have never had to deal with headlights before and do not know the jist about them....any help is greatly appreciated!

take a picture of the housings and i can tell ya exactly what to do, but the short story is to pull out the ballasts and bulbs, and replace with h4 (if its a single hi/lo bulb) or with a pair of h1 (if its a hi bulb lo bulb set up)

DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE THE BALLASTS WITH HALOGEN BULBS