Oil Consumption

kdozier

Hey guys. I'm a newbie here on the forum but I had a question about my '94 Del Sol. It's a 1.5 L. I'm noticing excess exhaust in this cold weather even after the car warms up. I did an oil change about 1000 miles ago. It needs a quart now. Only two things come to mind: valve stem seals or oil getting past the piston rings.... Does the 1.5 L have a problem with oil getting past the rings?

when i got my sol in 03 it had a d15b7 in it (same motor as you) and it was running on 3 cylinders because #4 didn't have any compression... now its VERY rare to see it leaking from the valves but to get 0 on compression test you basicly have to either have fully open valves or damaged valve AND bad rings... i poured some oil in and then i got a little compression, i didn't even look into the motor and sold it and got a b16 (id get an LS or z6 knowing what i know now... but anyways) nothing is really "common problem" with those motors other then they are low on power... but id guess your rings are bad maybe in all cylinders or just 1. do a compression test to see where what is...

I haven't heard of that being a common problem.

Have you looked around the engine bay to see if there is oil anywhere?

Or also underneath?

No the engine bay is clean as a whistle. I just got the car 2 weeks ago. No oil dripping from underneath either.

I thought I'd do a compression test when I got the money to buy a gauge. Seems to run fine though...

do you have any experiance with hondas? mine seemed "fine" but had no guts... which i originally thought was just the motor being the baby one... it was junk.