93 Accord SE with oil on spark plugs

twcinnh

My wife mentioned her 93 Accord SE has been slow starting the past week or so. I went out to change the spark plugs since it's been a couple of years and found 3 of the 4 had a good bit of oil on them.

Is this the end? Or, is there a possible solution I can do (I'm an average at home mechanic).

Would appreciate suggestions what the cause could be and what repairs to anticipate.

Thanks,

Tom C

the end? not by any means... check your spark plug seals/grommets ... theyre cheap, change them and the valve cover gasket.. see if its still leaking from there

Any idea how complex this job is? I can do some simple things and would like to save the bucks if possible.

Thanks,

Tom

Any idea how complex this job is? I can do some simple things and would like to save the bucks if possible.

Thanks,

Tom

This job should take you about 20 minutes. You remove the valve cover, remove the old VC gasket, remove the old spark plug gaskets, install all the new gaskets and reinstall VC. Just make sure not to overtighten the nuts on the valve cover when reinstalling as they are usually aluminum and break pretty easily if you overtighten them.

Autozone will have a complete Valve Cover Gasket set for around 20 bucks I think. It will also come with lower spark plug gaskets but that usually requires you to remove the complete rocker assembly....and it's usually the upper gaskets that leak anyway.

Edit: And to clarify....there was oil in the spark plug holes i.e. back of the spark plug.....not the tip and inside the cylinder...right?

This job should take you about 20 minutes. You remove the valve cover, remove the old VC gasket, remove the old spark plug gaskets, install all the new gaskets and reinstall VC. Just make sure not to overtighten the nuts on the valve cover when reinstalling as they are usually aluminum and break pretty easily if you overtighten them.