Just bought a 92 Civic 4dr non-vtec

SteveSter

Whats up Honda people. Well as the title says I bought a 92 civic for $300, not for me since im a Mazda man myself, but just to fix up and sell for profit. I am studying to be an automotive technician and this car is confusing me a bit.

I was told the main thing wrong with the car is a blown headgasket, it overheats and it loses coolant yet the oil is not that nasty milky color as it should be losing that much coolant and there is no smoke coming from the tailpipe what so ever. I cant find any hoses leaking coolant either.

Also, how do I check the ATF level? Its shifting a bit wierd and want to make sure the fluid is in good shape, if not ill flush it.

The idle is a bit high is there an IAC adjustment screw on this car?

Also is there any common problems I should be lookin for?

Thanks,

Steven

The idle screw should be under the iac valve.

do not flush a honda trans, only drain and refill. the system is designed to never be opened and the screens and filters cannot be replaced in the trans. if you flush it you will break loose any loose goo in the corners and clog it up.

check the fluid level by opening the fill screw on the side of the bell housing. it is full if you stick your finger in the hole and you feel fluid. if not then fill from that same hole until fluid comes out that same hole.

check your oil. all your coolant may be in the oil pan by now.

common issue: timing belt. they need changed every 80-100k miles on your car. it is a frail little rubber belt that will break if not replaced. belt and the corresponding water pump and tensioner all replace at same time and parts are all of $50 for the job but it will take you half the day trying to figure out how to get the crank pully off.

Ive been driving the car around the block a couple of times (not letting it overheat) and the oil still seems normal and not milky but i am losing coolant from the radiator and the reservoir (the radiator is new).