Brake Pads Nightmare

BDub

So a few weeks ago, I did a few maintenance things to my 99 Civic EX(or is it?). Change the oil, fluids, and so forth. I also changed the brake pads. Since I am new to the whole car mods thing, a good friend of mine helped me (by that I mean, he showed me how to do all of it). He used to race sprint cars, and was a head mechanic for a Honda dealership. In other words, he knows just about everything you could ever want to know about Honda. Everything was going fine until we installed the brake pads. We went to the store (no name dropping), and bought the exact size ceramics we needed for a 99 civic EX. However, they would not fit. We had to file down the pads to get them to fit properly, leading to my friend explaining that in the hundreds of times he has done this, this was the first time they never fit.

In the end, he had a hunch- that my car was perhaps, not an EX. I bought it used from a girl who went to the shop for every little problem, and did everything they asked her to. She had bought it brand new from the dealership. According to the title, and the badge, it is an EX. However, the engine appears to not match (when it stops snowing, I'll go check the engine number, I can't remember it) what an EX should be. It does not say VTEC, and according to my friend, he can't feel the VTEC kick in.

So, what I'm getting at is, how can I check to see if it is in fact an EX, or did the dealership not only f**k me over, but the girl as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-BDub

someone else should know but i believe there is a part of the VIN # that shoudl tell you, since you are not sure of the motors origin. although i don't feel any surge of power from vtec (or any surge of power for that matter). check the engine block for a stamp that says D16Y8 on the passenger side, just a little below the header and the the side.