transmission noise

Pballer2005

the 5sdp transmission in my 99 ex is making a weird winding/grinding noise in all gears. its not a typical grinding sound, more like when you winding gear sound only louder and not as smooth. it does it randomly in 1st gear, more often when its cold, as well as 2nd, and it always does it in 3rd-5th. if i let the car sit in neutral with the clutch out i can hear it as well. the sound varies in pitch that is directly related to teh engine speed (i.e. when the engine revs higher, the noise gets higher pitched which leads me to believe something that spins with the engine is rubbing somewhere.the car doesn't bog down or anythign when i hear the noise, no change in acceleration/handling, no pulling to one side or the other, no unusaul motion or vibration in the shifter, just the sound itself.

i live on campus at school so i don't exactly have the tools to take anything apart, and since i'm a student i don't have much money to take it to a mechanic so basically i want to know how long might it take for severe damage to take place should i wait till i have enough money to make any serious repairs?

mainshaft bearings 100%. sounds like they are bad too. theres a ball beaing on each end of the mainshaft , they always go eventually. approx 60 bucks at honda for both. as far as getting them put in , lol , your fuked if your broke. a shop will charge you im sure at least 750 bucks. id do it for you for 350. if your just brought the tranny to me already out of the car , i charge 75 bucks. see how much it costs for shipping each way to me , haha , might be cheaper than going to a shop still.

that sux, how long can i go with it like this? it's my dd so i probably wouldn't be able to do anything with it until spring break. how might i go about figuring out shipping for something that heavy, and i live in southern california?