Hondata S300

I just picked one up earlier this evening. Does anyone have any experience using it? Can I really plug it into my laptop and mess with stuff? I have NO experience with tuning. But I'm willing to learn.

Is there a site I can download base-maps off of? I don't know what kind of calibration is written on this s300, but it wouldn't keep my d16z6 running. The guy I got it from had an LS vtec with ITBs. I want to put a regular d16z6 base map on it to start out with. Or possibly a b18c1 base-map so I can use it in "hatch one" and have it tuned after my upgrades.

I wouldn't download a basemap if there are any available. If the engines are stock don't bother putting it on. Tuning it yourself you'll either A) blow your engine or B) make less power than stock or have worse drivability than stock.

I just want to test to make sure this thing works. So I want to put a stock basemap and see if it runs without issue. Oh and there is an intake and exhaust on "hatch 3" (d16z6).

PS: I just picked up a blox intake mani for my gsr! :D I paid $100 and the guy delivered it. It's already got fuel rail and injectors too, so I can recoup a few bucks selling those.

Well wouldn't loading a stock d16z6 base-map onto the ecu be the right thing to do to run it on a stock d16z6? Wouldn't this be a way to test the unit to make sure it works? It's on a p28. I don't see what the big deal is.

If you have it you probably already paid for it. Just build your motor however you please, then take the car and ecu/hondata components to a professional tuner. You will be much happier with the results.

If you have it you probably already paid for it. Just build your motor however you please, then take the car and ecu/hondata components to a professional tuner. You will be much happier with the results.

Actually I paid half. I need to test it and then pay the other half if it's good or get my half back if not.

I'm getting on hondataforums.net about this.