The Official Winter beater thread

Ksol

18 members have voted

1. 1. What do you do in winter?

• Drive the same car as always
    • Store it and drive my beater
    • what's a beater?

Alright well winter is almost here and I searched the forum to find a similar topic but couldn't find one. I know some of us drive our cars year round because we have nothing else, but I also know that those who care deeply about their car and can afford to drive something else and store their 'nice' car.

I myself store my del sol every year for two reasons; one being it would not fare well in winter, and secondly because I like it too much to put it through such a thing.

Please include pictures of what your winter beater may be:

Mine is this : av1ae8.jpg

Edited by Ksol

I'm a poor college student. I drive my Civic all year. If I had money, I'd have a Subie for winter.

it just so happens that I, have a subie for winter.:thumbsup:

IMG_0817.jpg

when i get it back, im thinking about investing in some skid plates so the road salt and sand doesnt f*ck up the bottom of my car.

You generally will not have a problem with sand and salt on the bottom of the car as there is nothing in that area to cause large quantities of such substances to spray onto that surface. Your problem will be with the insides of the wheel wells. Common issue with all northern cars that use salt specifically. The salt chunks get up into the well and corrode the clear and paint, sometimes from the inside of the metal depending on the design of your cars wells. When the stuff gets up in there is does not dry quickly, unlike the bottom of the car which dries out pretty fast. To save your car make a stop at the car wash every nice day and go out of your way to hose out the wheel wells - paying careful attention to the corners of rolled metal flange where it reaches the front and the rear edge of the well.

My winter beater:

DSCF1852.jpg