Should I swap?

museic07

Hey, im really new at this but have been helping my uncle work on his car and i was wanting to swap my engine out but dont know a good one to use, i have a 2000 civic si, i dont want to have to use a turbo i want just complete engine power so any good suggestions? thanks

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

well you have a pretty good motor to start out with, and youre really not going to get that much more power with any other motor, unless you spend some money. if you dont want a turbo, just do an N/A build. how much power are you looking to get anyway?

Basically, to get a considerable power increase over your current motor without turbo, nos, etc,

the best swap candidate for you is the k-series. (k20 from an rsx type-s is very good).

This swap is not for novices though. And to have one installed is very expensive.

It would be a lot cheaper AND easier to just build your motor up a little and put on a light turbo.

Plus turbo sounds really cool. :D

Another route would be to replace your block with one from an Integra LS or Honda CRV.

I don't know which one would be more stable, crvtec or FI...

and i know what everyone's gonna say, "either would be perfectly reliable if done right".

Doing it right is often the tricky part however.

Just try a search on LS/VTEC or CRVTEC

There are dozens of threads to read through. A lot of conflicting opinions, but enough for you to form one of your own. Just don't jump into anything without EXTENSIVE research. And when you've decided what to do, research some more.

i dont really know how much im lookin for?. . i guess i just want something that i can drive around town to work and stuff but then on weekends tear up the track. If i do go the turbo route would it affect my in town driving to much if i keep the boost low?

alright ive been looking at wrecked rsx type s, and can find some pretty cheap ones. I really just dont know what to do, say you had my car and this choice, what would you do?