Engine choices

freakshow10mm

Thanks again for putting up with me. I'm new to all the engines and stuff. Definately not a mechanic but willing to learn some stuff.

Anyways, found some links when searching for engines. One cool site is enginereplacement.com. Has charts and specs and "will fit" charts. Neat site.

The ZC engine will, according to the site, bold in my base model 90 CRX with the D15B2 with L3 (pretty sure that is the 5spd trans code) with no mods to the car, using the stock components.

Modifications for swapping the B16, B18, H22, or ZC:
  • 88-91 Civic/CRX will require a motor mount kit. This kit requires no welding and since it is adapted to your current mounts it is easy to put back to stock if you wanted to.
  • You need to get axles from a 90-93 Integra (if your 88-91 CIVIC/CRX is the DX model you will need a 90-91 Si wiring harness, or modify your harness to run four injectors. Shift linkage is also required.)
  • ZC will bolt straight into the 88-91 Civic/CRX (The Si model needs no additional parts on any other non Si models you need a wire harness, and Si axles)

Bullets one and three are contradictory in that the first says I need a motor mount kit but the second said it will bolt straight to a 88-91 CRX; since I have a DX base model I will need an Si wiring harness and Si axles. Link to full page is below.

Link here

Involved in swap

At the link above, the ZC engine will swap into my CRX at "Level 1" which is "The engine bolts in using stock Honda or Acura components, with no modifications to the car. " [first line in chart]. This contridicts the first bullet posted from the site above, which states I need a mount kit.

ZC DOHC swap in CRX info

Reference the chart in the above link for the following.

Ok, so like I said I have a DX civic with the L3 transmission. Based on this chart, to install a ZC engine I need:

Honda Civic motor mounts. I take that to mean non-CRX mounts. Confirm?

PM6, PM7, or PG7 ECU.