need rough running help

97DX

i'm new to honda engines and have a few issues with my girlfriends 97 civic dx, no mods, that about a week ago started running extremely rough.

it has a bad rough idle and wants to and does stall when warmed up. it has zero power at the bottom and top end and i hear a rattle (maybe from predetonation?) under heavy load. also the trans doesn't want to shift at the top of third gear, have to let off a little to let it shift then get back on it right away to try and gain speed again.

i checked for codes and had one for the ckp sensor and 02 sensor 1 but no check engine light. i cleared those and about a day later check engine light finally came on and had code for rich running condition.

i have replaced the fuel filter, plugs, air filter, map sensor, fuel pressure regulator, and drained and filled the tank with new fuel trying to track down what the f could be the cause.

i am beating my head against the wall on this one and have come to a point where i have no more ideas. any suggestions or thoughts anyone might have would be greatly appreciated. thanks

find someone with the same car(96-98 civic N-VTEC) , and try a different distributor. if your getting that bad of spark knock , theres somin going on with timing. CKP is crank position sensor , its in the dizzy , and can cause these kinds of problems. most times , when a dizzy or should i say CKP goes bad , there is no check engine light on at all , or a different code comes up. the reason the tranny is shifting funny , is cause its not sensing the load it normally would with the engine giving full power. also , just for craps and giggles , and since its free , check your itming and make sure thats all good. pop valve cover and top timing cover off and set the crank to TDC , see if the spoke of the cam wheel with the UP arrow on it , is pointing , ahhhhh , up , lol. theres also little hash marks 90 each way that line up with head surface.