d15b1??? what the hell is this thing

Ok so I have have an 88 civic hatch with a d15b1 and i was wondering what the hell the little box on top of the intake manifold is and what it does, the intake attaches to it and i havent really looked into it too much but what i was wondering is if it is going to affect me turboing it or not because like i said i have no clue what it is..... so any help about this and anything else with this engine would be really helpful cause i am kinda new to the whole honda thing.

D15B1 1.5 8V SOHC PGM-FI 1493 70hp@5500rpm 83tq@3000rpm '88-'?? Civic

you probably dont want to turbo that motor.

the rods are really small and would break like nothing

swap the motor first.. if you want sohc go with a d16z6 or d16y8

if you want dohc then go with like a ls swap (b18a1 or b18b1)

Well i really sdont know too much about hondas but i just want to do something different i wanna stay non-vetc and turbo something that not very many people do anything to but if i wanted to saty with this motor then i take it i should get different rods i just wanna boost like 10 psi not too much lol just wanna beat a friends car for now hes runnin a 98 coupe with a b16 and thinks he is the crap so just wanna beat him with a non-vtec but i mean is there anything i can really do with this or do i pretty much have to swap it ?????? and even though its v-tec what do you think about a d15b jdm ???

d15b is near identical to d16z6. u want single vtec get one outta a jUnkyard and save on the shipping. but zc engines make pretty good power under Boost if u want different

f*ck all that... you def. dont want the stock motor 1. the rods/ internals are weak.

2. its dpfi (2 injectors) 3. if you turbo this motor you will be at about the same horse as a d16z6 stock. 4. given number 3... your friend will still beat you hes pushin over 160hp.

if it was me and i didnt want vtec i would go with a b20 and turbo that crap.