bad main shaft bearing?

jason.e

im a total car noob and honda is telling me i have a bad main shaft bearing, but they are playing warranty games with me.. :dry:

what can cause the main shaft bearing to go bad? i have a 01 manual civic and my honda dealer is telling me i need to replace the main shaft bearing. they say it will be like 10 or 12 hours of labor at $90 an hour + $360 for parts.

All of this is covered by my warranty BUT (heres the real question) somebody hit my car about 4 years ago and messed up my bumper. the guy hit the front drivers side corner of the car at about 10 or 15 (ish) mph. Honda is telling me that my main shaft bearing might be screwing up now (years later) because of that incident. They say they will only know for sure once they open up the transmission and look at the bearing.

if they look at it and decide its from "outside forces" then i have to pay for the time they already spent to open up the car (and put it back together). but if they decide its from natural causes then its all covered and i have a happy day. so im kinda tossing a $1500 quarter

the reason i brought the car in to them in the first place is because when im sitting in neutral and i push the clutch in and out the motor is noticeably louder with the clutch out and it quiets down when i push the clutch in. It might make some other bad noise when it drives but i dont really know what to listen for..

is this main shaft bearing thing something that dies alot on 01 civics? does it normally die on its own? or could a minor accident break it? also, does anybody know how the hondacare warranty works for the dealer? do they have any good reason to try to make people pay for stuff that should be covered?

i know i probably wrote to much but im a total noob with cars and ill probably end up either spending or saving about $1500 based on what you guys tell me here so i figure ill say as much as i can.

any ideas would be greatly appreciated !

thanks