help on engine setup

I am relatively new to set up engine, though I know pretty much about the engine itself, Problem is I would like to set up my engine, but I wouldn't know how to start, and I have a limited budget and a lot of this engine set ups shoud be bought the whole set up.... need help on how to start???

• Replies 73
  • Created
  • Last Reply

yeah it kinda didnt make sense when you just kept saying set up and didnt say what kinda engine or even what kinda car you have.

do that and then even afterwards.. i still say stick to boltons:

aem,injen,k&n,bomz Cold Air Intakes are good.

DC sport headers are good.

skunk 2 intake manifold.

fidanza lightweight flywheel (7-8lbs)

apex'i, greddy, number 1, hks dragger exhausts are good.

others you should search for.

yeah, but then of course, you have the proven performance gains with aem and injen ... reason being, they have a little bit more money for research and development, and they sound good too !!! ... spend the extra couple bucks ... when you get boost you get rid of it anyway :laugh:

intakes will add barely any horsepower. that proven hp crap is exactly that-crap (although for my STi some intakes like the K&N Typhoon show gains of up to 12WHP.. pretty sweet).

headerback exhaust is where you'll feel something if that.

if you plan to boost, dont even bother with intake and header. its just a waste since youll be ridding of your header, but you could use the intake if its cold air for ic piping like i did.

right, but i honestly felt a difference in throttle response with my aem intake ... itscai and it sounds great ... not saying it added massive power amounts .. but i probly got a good 3-6 whp from it ... yeah sti's react well with them i noticed .. and s2000s