What is the optimal turbocharger for a stock d16z6?

I've got this extra hatchback with a d16z6 and I wanna boost it. Nothing serious, just for fun. I'm not looking for more than like 170ish whp. But really, I just want it to work and not damage the engine.

I don't want to change any internals either. I just want to put some dsm injectors in it, maybe a walboro 255, and bolt on the turbo, fmic, radiator, etc. Then of course I'll have it dyno tuned properly. I've got an s300'd p28 that I'm not using.

I have no experience in turboing so I'd like to do it to the d-series for the practice and experience before I build and boost my gsr hatch.

I'm going to start piecing together a kit from craigslist or wherever and I want to know what the optimal size turbo would be for a stock d16z6. (housings, trim, turbine, etc.) Also, a safe psi for said turbo.

Thanks!

I found this one on CL:

For sale is a brand new custom built turbo from Fatboy Products. It has a standard T3 exhaust housing with a T3 flange. I has garrett internals and a .60 trim t4 compressor housing. This turbo is brand new and has never been used. This turbo has never been used. The project never was finished, now my loss is your gain. It was purchased for $450 or so a few years ago, I will let it go for $200.

Would this be too much? Too laggy?

I'd like to avoid too much lag.

WTF. Lets arbitrarily pick turbos for this motor.

or... do the work and figure out what would be best for your goals: http://www.hondaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=32471

For a goal of 175hp a T3/T4 is absolutely NOT necessary and therefore would create more lag than other options.

I bet you could find a dirt cheap GT28R that you could run at 9psi for that power level with half as much lag as the 3/4

Like Maf said, there isn't an *optimal* turbo for a particular motor, there are so many variables. I agree with Maf, a GT 25/28 is probably going to be the best bang for your buck.