• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Swish7

Swish7

• 9 posts
  • Vehicles:1995 Honda Civic EX

Posted 03 August 2007 - 01:46 PM

Hello,

I have a 1995 Civic EX with 160,000 miles. Stock VTec engine. After towing the car to FL, and receiving it back from a body shop (overdue work, not a recent collision), I noticed it was idling weird. The symptoms are:

- Idles at just above 0 RPM, all the time (on start, hot, cold, wet, dry, etc)

- During acceleration, the scar sputters (as if water were in the gas or something)

- If while driving at a high speed (say 60 MPH), I let the RPMs fall to 2K, the car sputters exactly as it does during acceleration

- The exhaust/catalytic converter area doesn't smell quite right. I'm not sure if this issue is related or not.

From researching this forum and others, and Cranny's excellent responses, it sounds like the problem could either be an IACV or a blown gasket. However, I am only a novice mechanic and don't have the free cash at the moment to let a mechanic "figure it out".
Any advice on how to diagnose and fix these problems would be appreciated. I've a haynes book, so I can follow the detailed steps therein. The car used to have the "pulsating idle" problem, but this issue is very different.

If this is a blown gasket, what is the most cost effective way to fix w/out having to do it myself?

#2 cranny

cranny

i keep them running

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,469 posts
  • Vehicles:2001 Honda Civic Type S

Posted 03 August 2007 - 03:34 PM